Posted by: psmiley | February 23, 2010

What a Day!

Bob at KSC

This is going to be a quick post just to tell you that we went to the Kennedy Space Center today. It was as much a tour of the wildlife sanctuary) that it was of NASA.

The shuttle, Endeavor, landed just after 10 PM last night and as we toured, we caught just a glimpse of it being taken in to NASA’s Assembly building. We did go on the most expensive tour ($59 a piece) and we got as close as possible to the launch pads as possible.

So here is picture or two to whet your appetite.I used a picture of Bob and one of his friends. Bob has been beating the bushes in the marshes trying to find an alligator. Who knew you only had to come to the Kennedy Space Center – we saw several!

This alligator is up to something!

We arrived at Tomoka State Park in Ormond Beach at dinnertime right before a thunderstorm. Much more tomorrow! Hope you had a great day, too!

Responses

  1. Linda and I enjoyed the Kennedy Space Center back June of 1986. We took the same tour you did, and I recently found a picture of Linda from there that I should post on Facebook.

    I abandoned the family on a later trip to see the Space Shuttle launch from the beach on Titusville—I did ask everyone (at 5AM) if they wanted to go with me, but no one was very interested.

    I still have the tape (later copied to a DVD). The earth shook.

    • John, I can’t believe it was that long ago! I thought you were there more recently than that. I remember the story well. I wish we could have seen a launch or landing. Maybe next time! Thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

Categories

